Assign permissions to users in your client account based on their needs through the user management function of CertnCentric. Learn more in this article.
In this article
User permission details
User permissions are broken up into 5 different roles: requester, contributor, billing, manager, and admin. The table below breaks down their respective permissions.
| Requester | Contributor | Billing | Manager | Admin | |
| Edit user roles | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ | ✅1 | ✅ |
1Managers cannot edit admin roles or promote users to admin.
What each role can and cannot do
Admin
The Admin role is designed for users who require the highest level of access across the account. Admins can access and manage nearly all account functionality across regions, including users, groups, settings, checks, and billing information.
Manager
The Manager role is designed for users responsible for managing specific groups within the account. Managers can manage features such as tags and check settings within the groups they have access to.
Managers:
- Can only view and manage groups they have been invited to.
- Cannot view or manage groups outside of their assigned access.
- Cannot view invoices.
Contributor
The Contributor role is designed for users who need to order and review background checks within their assigned groups without broader administrative permissions.
Contributors:
- Can order and review checks within their assigned groups.
- Cannot manage other users' access to groups.
- Cannot view invoices.
- Cannot make decisions on cases assigned to other users.
Billing
The Billing role is designed for users responsible for managing the account's billing and payment information.
Billing users can view and manage invoices, billing profiles, and payments, as well as export billing-related data. They cannot order or manage background checks.
Requestor
The Requestor role is designed for users who need to initiate background checks and monitor their progress without accessing sensitive report information.
Requestors:
- Can order background checks.
- Can view the status and progress of checks they have access to.
- Cannot view completed reports or scores.
- Cannot make final decisions on reports.
A Reviewer must be assigned to review the report details and make the final decision once the check is complete.
Managing users
Client user accounts and permissions can be managed directly from CertnCentric.
Create new users
Create new users for your Certn client account directly through CertnCentric using the steps below.
Note: Users can only be created by an existing user with the admin or manager role. The admin role can only be assigned to users by an existing user with the admin role.
- Select Settings in the CertnCentric navigation bar.
- Select Users under the Account settings section of the navigation bar.
- Select the New user button.
- You’ll be prompted for the full name and email of the user you’d like to create. You’ll also need to select the role type for this new user. Optionally, you can add the Location Country of the user. This helps control access and permissions, ensuring users only view data permitted for their region. Enter those details and select Next step.
- On the next page, you’ll be prompted to assign the user to one or more groups. Choose the groups you would like to assign the user to by selecting the search bar and choosing from the list of available groups, then select Add.
- You can remove any groups accidentally added during this step by selecting the vertical ellipses next to a group and selecting Remove group.
- Once you are finished with group assignment for the user, select the Complete user button to finish the user creation process.
Note: When creating a user with the admin role, there will not be an option for group assignment because they have access to all groups.
View a user’s details
You can view a user’s information, assigned groups, and role from their User details page. To access a user’s User details page, follow the steps below.
- Select Settings in the CertnCentric navigation bar.
- Select Users under the Account settings section of the navigation bar.
- Select the user you want to edit, or select the vertical ellipses next to their name and select View user.
- You will be brought to the User details page where you can review the user’s information, group assignments, and role.
Edit existing users
Existing users can have their role or details edited by a user with either the manager or admin user role.
Admins can make any change to any user other than their own role.
Managers can make almost any change to any non-admin users, other than their own role. They cannot assign the admin user role.
To edit an existing user, start from the User details page, as detailed in the View a user’s details section above, of the user you’d like to edit. Then follow the steps below based on your needs.
Edit a user’s details
- Select the Edit button from inside the Details tab.
- Change the details you need to edit.
- Select Save changes to complete the change.
Edit a user’s role
- Select the Edit button from inside the Details tab.
- Select the drop down menu under the Role heading and choose a new role for the user.
- Select Save changes to complete the change.
Edit a user’s assigned groups
Select the Groups tab and follow the steps below to edit the user’s groups as needed.
Assign new groups to a user
- Select the Select group(s) search bar.
- Choose the groups to which you’d like to assign the user.
- Selecting the Add button.
Remove groups from a user
- Select the vertical ellipses next to a group in the Assigned groups section.
- Select Remove from group.
- You’ll be prompted with a modal asking you to confirm this change. Select Remove group to confirm.
Deactivate and reactivate a user
- Select the vertical ellipses next to the user’s name and email.
- Select either Deactivate user or Reactivate user.
- You’ll be prompted with a modal asking you to confirm this change. Select either Deactivate user or Reactivate user to confirm.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.